Portage Borough
Skip navigation links
Municipal Government
Municipal Election Information
Authorities & Commissions
Plans and Projects
Skip navigation links
Emergency Services
Portage Ambulance
Portage Fire Dept
Medical Providers
Utility Reporting
Area Businesses
Links and Directory
F A Q' S
Community Calendar
Neighboring Events
Forms and Application
In the Past Pictures
Old Stop N Go on Mountain Ave
Main Street fire in 2011
Lady Mustangs of 2013
Demo of 619 Main St
Rex Theatre Demo
Building Permit Process
Job Opportunities
Vacant Positions
Government Page



The Purpose


The Portage Government Study Commission was elected into existence in November 1992 from a general dissatisfaction by Portage Borough voters with the operation of the existing form of government.  Initial concerns expressed by the voters focused on the Borough’s inability to identify problems and effect workable solutions. 


The Borough Code of the State of Pennsylvania mandates how the Borough government will be structured and operated.  The law specifically dictates that all administrative, legislative and general policy-making functions of the Borough of Portage be vested solely in the elected Council. 


Act 62, the Pennsylvania Home Rule Charter and Optional Plans Law states:  It shall be the function and duty of the Government Study Commission to study the form of government of the municipality, to compare it with other available forms under the laws of this State, to determine whether or not on its judgment of the government of the municipality could be strengthened, made more clearly responsible or accountable to the people, or whether its operation could become more economical or efficient under a changed from of government.”


The Findings of the Commission


The Study Commission studied many issues involving the local government for fifteen months.  The Commission spoke with State and local officials, borough managers, the Pennsylvania Economy League, the Home Rule Advocacy Network, borough employees, and the residents. The Commission found most forms of municipal governments were developed when operations of local government was simple. Today, modern government has become a highly technical and complex business.  Local government operations face increasing demands from the public and from state and federal mandates.  The efficient operation of the borough requires professional attention daily.  It is unreasonable to expect that part-time elected officials can do this job. 


The Commission believed that the Council-Manager Plan under the Home Rule Charter Optional Form of Government best served Portage Borough because it provides a workable allocation of governmental responsibilities, a truer system of checks and balances, a separation of personalities and administration, and – the critical factor—professional management.  Following the close examination of the current form of government, the Commission found a number of structural deficiencies:


            Lack of Central Authority                         No Long-Range Planning

            Lack of Checks and Balances               Reliance on Outside Help





The Recommendations:


·      The form of government in the Borough of Portage be changed to a Council-Manager Option plan provided in Article VIII of the Home Rule Charter and Optional Plans Law (Act 62). 


·      Council will consist of a Mayor, elected at large, and six council representatives, elected by ward.


·      The number of ward will be changed to three and that representation will be equal in each ward.


·      The Home Rule Charter be submitted to the voters at the primary election held on Tuesday, May 11, 1994.  The new form of government would then become effective on the first Monday of January 1996.



The Advantages of a Council-Manager Form of Government


The Commission provided the following advantages:


      Taxpayer Savings                Professionalism in managing borough affairs

      Vision                                    Leadership and Accountability

      Efficiency                              Stability

      Broad Representation         Creditability



The Home Rule Charter was adopted by the voters of Portage on May 11, 1994.



 Wards and Map

Portage Borough is divided into three Wards.  Below is a map reflecting the territorial boundary lines for each ward. 
In Ward One:  your representatives are Sharon McCarthy and John Morgan.
In Ward Two:  your representatives are Jerome Yetsko and George Wozniak.
In Ward Three: your representatives are Rebecca Chobany and Todd Learn.
Mayor James Kisssell is also your representative in Ward One.