Portage Borough
Skip navigation links
Municipal Government
Municipal Election Information
Authorities & Commissions
Plans and Projects
Skip navigation links
Emergency Services
Portage Ambulance
Portage Fire Dept
Medical Providers
Utility Reporting
Area Businesses
Links and Directory
F A Q' S
Community Calendar
Neighboring Events
Forms and Application
In the Past Pictures
Old Stop N Go on Mountain Ave
Main Street fire in 2011
Lady Mustangs of 2013
Demo of 619 Main St
Rex Theatre Demo
Building Permit Process
Job Opportunities
Vacant Positions
Portage Area Planning Commission
The Portage Area Regional Planning Commission was created on August 7, 1962, per Ordinance 241, by Portage Borough.  The Planning Commission consists of five members serving a five year term, appointed by Borough Council.  The Planning Commission is also comprised of five members serving a five year term from Portage Township. 
The Planning Commission was created to identify existing problems and/or constraints within Portage Borough and Portage Township and to develop mechanisms and policies that will promote sound "growth management" in support of economic development.  The Commission represents a concerted effort by elected and appointed officials.  The Planning Commissions goal is to increase economic development and strengthen the regional planning process.
In 2001,  the Cambria County Planning Commission prepared "The Portage Area Region Comprehensive Plan" that is available for review in the Portage Borough Administration Building

 Meeting Dates

The Planning Commission meets
every second Monday of the month
at 7:00 p.m. at the Portage Township
Municipal Building.  There is
no meeting in July or December.


 Board Members:
Joseph Beyer    
Steve Nagy            
David Hayes
 Blaise Michaels      
Mark Leturgey         
Ray Kargo
Kami Lidwell          
Marshall McCabe        
Evelyn Hutsky