Portage Borough
Skip navigation links
Home
Municipal Government
Municipal Election Information
Minutes
Ordinances
Authorities & Commissions
Community
Recreation
Plans and Projects
Skip navigation links
Emergency Services
Portage Ambulance
Portage Fire Dept
Medical Providers
Utility Reporting
Organizations
Area Businesses
Links and Directory
F A Q' S
Calendars
Community Calendar
Neighboring Events
Forms and Application
In the Past Pictures
Old Stop N Go on Mountain Ave
Main Street fire in 2011
Lady Mustangs of 2013
Demo of 619 Main St
Rex Theatre Demo
Building Permit Process
Job Opportunities
Vacant Positions
Schools
Portage Area School District
84 Mountain Avenue
Portage, PA  15946
814/736-9636
 
 
Contacts & Directions

     For most visitors, the easiest--if not always the fastest--way to get to Portage is from U.S. Route 22, exiting at Munster Road (Route 164), which leads directly to Portage Borough. Route 164 becomes Main Street as it passes through the borough. About midway through town, at Mountain Avenue, travelers should turn off Main Street (there's only one direction to turn) and head up the hill, where they'll find both the elementary and junior-senior highs at the top of the street.  The junior-senior high (grades 7-12) is to the right, and the elementary school is on the left.  The superintendent's and business offices occupy the righthand side of the elementary school.

Approximate Travel Times & Distances:
Johnstown -- 22 miles, 30 min.
Altoona -- 29 miles, 35 min.
Pittsburgh -- 85 miles, 1.75 hrs.
Harrisburg -- 135 miles, 2.5 hrs.
Philadelphia -- 240 miles, 4.25 hrs.
Washington, D.C. -- 180 miles, 3.5 hrs.

Quick Contacts:  Phone  Address
Superintendent's Office 814-736-9636 ext. 1200   84 Mountain Ave., Portage, PA 15946
High School Office 814-736-9636 ext. 1260  85 Mountain Ave., Portage, PA 15946
Elementary School Office 814-736-9636 ext. 1420  84 Mountain Ave., Portage, PA 15946
Business Office 814-736-9636 ext. 1230  84 Mountain Ave., Portage, PA 15946
Athletic Director's Office 814-736-9636 ext. 1360  85 Mountain Ave., Portage, PA 15946
 
 

 Portage Area Schools

 
Portage Area School District

Home of the Mustangs

 Portage Area School District
Board of Directors

Sue Berardinelli 2023 sberardinelli@mustangmail.org
Jason Corte 2025 jcorte@mustangmail.org
Matthew Decort 2025 matthew.decort@yahoo.com
Kathy Hough 2023 khough@mustangmail.org
John Jubina 2025 jjubina@mustangmail.org
Tina Latoche 2023 tlatoche@mustangmail.org
Christian Smith 2025 csmith@mustangmail.org
Dennis Squillario 2023 dsquillario@mustangmail.org
Eric Thrower 2023 Ethrower@mustangmail.org​​

 

 

 Meeting Dates

 
The Portage Area School Board meets the 2nd Wednesday of
each month at 6:30 p.m.  at the Elementary Auditorium.
 

 Portage Area Elementary and High School

 

Dial 814-736-9636 Plus Extension
Name Phone Ext. Email Position
Eric Zelanko 1560 supt@mustangmail.org Superintendent
Denise Moschgat  1500 dmoschgat@mustangmail.org Executive Secretary, 
Transportation Coordinator 
Open Records Officer
Ryan Clouse 1520 rclouse@mustangmail.org

Technology Administrator

Pete Noel 1605 

pnoel@mustangmail.org

Dir. of Special Education 

Elysia Myher 1610

emyher@mustangmail.org

Special Education Assistant

Mary Boland 1382

mboland@mustangmail.org 

Cafeteria Manager 

Jeremy Burkett  1321

athletics@mustangmail.org
jburkett@mustangmail.org

Athletic Director 
H.S. Assistant Principal

Olivia Kudlawiec 1615 

okudlawiec@mustangmail.org 

School Psychologist/ Special Education Coordinator

Tony Panick  1440 

maintenance@mustangmail.org

Building & Grounds Supervisor 

Ashley Shaffer 1620

ashaffer@mustangmail.org

School Social Worker

Elementary     

 

Pete Noel 1240 pnoel@mustangmail.org

Elementary Principal/ Special Education Director

Jennifer Pisarski  1211  jpisarski@mustangmail.org

E.S. Assistant Principal

High School       
Ralph Cecere 1300 rcecere@mustangmail.org Junior-Senor High Principal
Jeremy Burkett 1321 jburkett@mustangmail.org H.S. Assistant Principal, Athletic Director
Business       
Jeff Vasilko 1512

jvasilko@mustangmail.org

Business Manager 
Valerie Gentile 1511 vgentile@mustangmail.org Payroll Clerk
Elizabeth Sturtz 1510 esturtz@mustangmail.org Business Assistant​

 

 Sacred Heart School

 
The Sacred Heart Schools enrollment is pre-school to Kindergarten. 
 
The school is located at 821 Orchard Street, Portage, PA  15946
 
The telephone number is 814/736-3588.